First Time Using Gluten-Free Flour Mix: Advice Needed!

This post is a part of Sunday School, hosted by Butter Believer. Get Real Food Schooled!

Before investing in too many varieties of new gluten-free flours I thought it would be a good idea to try out a gluten-free flour mix first. I picked up a bag of Bob’s Red Mill All Purpose Gluten Free Flour Mix since I’ve been happy with the other Bob’s products I’ve purchased. And this afternoon I was feeling spunky enough to whip up some pumpkin spice muffins with my flour mix. Here’s what I did:

Gluten-free Pumpkin Spice Muffins


  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Grease 9×5-inch non-stick loaf pan. For smaller loaves, use three 5×3 inch loaf pans.
  3. Cream together oil, sugar, eggs, and vanilla in large bowl.
  4. Add flour, xanthan gum, salt, baking powder and cinnamon to egg mixture, alternating with bananas.
  5. Beat until smooth. Batter will be somewhat soft. transfer to pan(s).
  6. Bake in twelve count greased muffin pan for about 15 minutes.

I wanted to show you a picture but my daughter lost the battery to my camera today. Hopefully the battery will turn up before the muffins are gone so I can show you how they looked. I can tell you that they fluffed up nice and smelled terrific; they looked a lot like “normal” muffins.

The taste…well, it wasn’t bad but the garbanzo bean flour in the Bob’s mix stood out quite a bit to me. I don’t know if that’s normal or not? My five-year-old must have noticed too because he politely offered it to his sister after just one small bite. Of course, she happily took it and scarfed it right down. That’s my girl. :)

I think I might need to add more sucanat or maple syrup to sweeten them up and cover up the bean-y flavor?Or maybe just a real sweet frosting to crown them will mask it?

Perhaps someone “out there” can help me out? I’d love some advice, please!

Should I be able to taste the beaniness of the bean flour in the baking mix?

Would increasing the sweetener lessen the bean flavor?

Is there a better baking mix product or recipe that will still produce good baking results but not be so beany tasting?

One Comment on “First Time Using Gluten-Free Flour Mix: Advice Needed!”

  1. vincent says:

    Hello,

    We bumped into your site and we really liked it.
    We would like to add it to the Petitchef.com.

    We would be delighted if you could add your site to Petitchef so that our users can, as us,
    enjoy it.

    Petitchef is a french based Cooking recipes Portal. Several hundred Blogs are already members
    and benefit from their exposure on Petitchef.com.

    To add your site to the Petitchef family you can use http://en.petitchef.com/?obj=front&action=site_ajout_form or just go to Petitchef.com and click on “Add your site”

    Best regards,

    petitchef.com


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.